Internet Communications – By Angela Randall

An exploration of internet communications

Module 3: Blogs Task

leave a comment »

This task is asking me to write about blogs, hmm. I’ve been keeping my personal blog for about six years. I’ve gradually added to it, adding web2.0 stuff to the sidebar(s), changing the layout and, of course, adding semi-regular blog posts. At some point I realised that there were quite a few people reading the blog, so the more private entries ended up in locked posts over at livejournal. I also got involved in some group blogs, some semi-professional blogs of my own. I even tried to make money from blogging. But, you know? That’s hard and damned annoying. If it happens then let it happen. If not, don’t worry about it.

I guess, along the way I managed to meet lots of people and learn a lot about blogs, web 2.0 and social networking.

What’s weird is that now I barely bother reading any blogs other than my friend’s blogs. I still have piles of rss subscriptions waiting for me to read them sometime.. but mostly I find them quite boring. Everyone’s out to make money and they’re sacrificing post quality for post quantity.

I changed strategies so I only read posts that made it to top posts for delicious, digg or reddit. But then even they got bland.. because all the boring blog-for-money people are out gaming the systems so they make it to the top. Maybe I’m too harsh, though. Sometimes I do see some gems that way.

For a taste of what I mean by the top posts of everywhere, take a look at Popurls.com. It’s a fantastic way to quickly see what’s interesting on the net today.

But some of the old favourite blogs I will go back to on occasion are: BoingBoing.com and CuteOverload.com.

Written by Angela Alcorn

April 18, 2008 at 8:18 am

Posted in module 3, tasks

Leave a Reply

