Internet Communications – By Angela Randall

An exploration of internet communications

IM for Introverts

leave a comment »

My husband sent me this article on instant messaging for introverts saying “So that’s why I never log into facebook” and it got me thinking. I thought I would share my response with the class:

This is because you are introverted, don’t like to multi-task and you see all of these things as something that takes effort.

For myself, I agree a bit, but I guess I’m sort of different again. Still introverted, but different.

By updating twitter etc I feel as if I can go back to my solitude, but I’ve kept my friends in the loop. Same with IM – I can chat a little if I feel like it, but essentially I’m at home by myself or whatever.

I used to use it more often when living by myself so that I didn’t drop entirely out of the loop. These days I use it when I don’t mind some distraction. When I’m kind of ill, or off work but not trying to study. Or if I’m at work and WANT a distraction to make the day go quicker.

But I think the difference is in the attitude to IM and twitter as an interruption. I can ignore it. Just because I’m logged in doesn’t mean I’m at the computer. And most of my friends know that. I’ll respond when I feel like it. In that way it’s exactly like email.. only the conversation can go quicker if both parties feel like it. I see them all as another sort of email/asynchronous chat and I make the IM notifications as un-noticeable as possible.

In fact, I think most of my friends that use IM are similar. We all love being at home by ourselves, with an occasional communication with our friends via IM or whatever just to reassure us all that we ARE still friends. Then we go back to being alone. It’s perfection. We all still have friends to party with when we want them.

I therefore see IM and facebook as the tool of the introverted.

You’re just a different breed. 🙂

Written by Angela Randall

April 8, 2008 at 10:09 pm

Posted in module 2, News

Leave a Reply

